Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a Windows software developer and would like to expand my horizons and develop applications under MacOS X.

I currently have an AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHz running Windows 2000. I am considering buying the $1799 1.25GHz G4 at the Apple Store. Would this machine be comparable in performance to my Intel box?

While I would love a G5, I cannot justify the expense right now and I am basically doing this for fun not profit.

Any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
Well, you certainly have come to the right place for that question (albeit, probably a place with a *slight* bias to one particular platform...)

The G4 1.25 is indeed a capable system that would probably be on par with your current system.

As for programming/developing, I am not so knowledgeable, but there is the Apple Developer Connection (ADC Page) which is a free sign-up. (I'm a member and i couldn't program the "Hello World" without alot of help from friends
)

it provides all sorts of developer tools.

There are Mac programmer/developer types here on ehMac as well that could provide a better understanding of the environment.

:cool:

·
Registered
49 Posts
It's worth noting that ADC members get hefty discounts off Mac products ...

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
True, if they purchase the ADC account (there are free accounts, and then there are the more professional "paid" level that companies and businesses use (as opposed to hobbyists I guess)

·
Registered
237 Posts
That's only if they're select members or better (a.k.a. paid). Also, 'Select' means that you get seeds (if you sign and keep your non-disclosure agreement).

There are also a bunch of mailing lists that you can subscribe to at http://lists.apple.com. The carbon one seems to be nice and busy. There are also openGl lists, and firewire lists, cocoa lists, darwin lists, java and games (to name a few).