Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I have a PowerPC G4 here. It has 512MB and an empty slot.

I went out and bought a 512MB PC133 SDRAM 168-pin memory stick. I installed in on the second slot but the system is not recognizing it.

Does anyone know if MAC's accept certain types of memory modules? Am I doing something wrong? Do I have to do something additionally for the system to recognize the memory?

i'm very new to mac...

thanks

·
Mac Guru
14,627 Posts
More information required. What kind of Mac, besides it being a G4? Tower, iMac, graphite in color, blue in color? PowerBook, iBook?

·
Premium Member
3,899 Posts
Hello all,

I have a PowerPC G4 here. It has 512MB and an empty slot.

I went out and bought a 512MB PC133 SDRAM 168-pin memory stick. I installed in on the second slot but the system is not recognizing it.

Does anyone know if MAC's accept certain types of memory modules?
Correct

Am I doing something wrong?
No, apart from choosing the wrong modules

Do I have to do something additionally for the system to recognize the memory?
No,, the Mac will automatically recognize and use the memory once installed.

Assumption: Since you installed a 168 pin DIMM, then you have a PowerMac G4 tower, am I correct?

If your machine is a PCI graphics machine (the "Yikes" motherboard - 350 and 400 MHz), it cannot take 512 Mb DIMMs at all. You have to use 256 Mb low density DIMMs.

If your machine is an AGP graphics "Sawtooth" motherboard (350, 400 and up MHz), then it will take Low density 512 Mb DIMMs.

Note that the speeds of the models overlap, so you will have to positively identify it. If you go into About this Mac under the Apple menu, and choose More Information, then you should be able to see if the graphic card is on a AGP bus. If it is, then you have the later "Sawtooth" motherboard.

Or look at this Apple article Power Mac G4: How to Differentiate Between Models

·
Premium Member