Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I'm a bit slow with computers (especially Mac's since I'm new to them) but I'm hoping to have someone explain to me very simply exactly how wireless works.

Here's what I have in my home: We have cable with Cogeco and obviously an external modem for it. We only have 1 computer (a desktop PC) so I have no experience with networking or multiple computers, etc.

I will most likely be purchasing a MacBook and I know they come with the airport card already installed, so that's not an issue.

So here is where I'm a bit confused. Do I need to get a new modem from my cable company that has an antenna? (the one we have doesn't). Or do I just need to get the Airport Extreme base station (or the simple little Airport express wireless base)? And if I only need the Airport Extreme or the Airport Express, how exactly does my modem factor into everything? Do I have to unplug the DSL and the Ethernet from my modem and connect them to the base station? I feel like if I'm unplugging things from my modem, that the computer I'm currently on (the PC) won't work. A friend of mine says I need a router. Is the Airport Extreme and the Airport Express routers?

So I'm REALLY hoping that someone can put everything very simply for me because I'm really confused. I looked around online for a while but I couldn't find anything that made it absolutely crystal clear. Especially how my cable modem and the base station work together, etc.

Thanks guys!

·
tilting at windmills
3,667 Posts
I have a Linux PC, a Mac Mini without wireless capability and a MacBook with wireless capability. I also have an Airport Express.

I am on Cogeco Cable and have the cable modem without an antenna.

But...