ehMac banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have an Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB, 2.66GHz, using OS X 10.6.8 Have 2.57 GB free. We have been using a WD My Book World Addition II for back up. We had a power outage a few weeks ago, and now there is no back ups being done to the WD. I have tried restarting and re-installing the WD, but nothing happens. Doesn't show up in Time Machine, nor does it ever seem to work correctly after I restart it. The light sequence on the front display of WD does not match anything described in owners manual. I have decided to ditch the WD, and go with a 2TB Time Capsule. We are using an Airport Extreme for Wi-Fi now. Will I just be able to unhook the Airport Extreme and WD, plug in, hook up Time Capsule, and follow the set up procedure? I am not really good with computers, but want Wi-Fi, and automatic backups.

·
Premium Member
17,945 Posts
It really will be as simple as plugging in the Time Machine and running the setup procedure. You will need to set the Wireless network name / password on all of your connected devices, of course, but that's no biggie.

And don't toss the WD hard drive just yet! At the very least, you may be able to get it up and running again to use as secondary storage.

Have you opened Disk Utility (in /Applications/Utilities/) with the WD drive plugged in and turned on? If it doesn't see it, then there may be a problem with the WD enclosure. The drive within the WD enclosure may be fine... and a fix would be as simple as swapping the drive out into another case.

·
Premium Member
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I haven't tried the Disk Utility step. I will give that a try. I think the Time Capsule is the way I want to go anyway. We have 2 iPhone 4S, and a first generation iPad as well. Time Capsule should automatically back those up as well. Thanks for the help. I will try DU now.

·
Premium Member
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #4