Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for software to get directions while travelling around North America. Similar to the stuff available for PC, does it exist?

·
Registered
918 Posts
I am a bit confused why do you need software? I don't use software for map driving directions, I just go to maquest.ca and put in the starting and ending address. Gives me a map or written instructions to the door.

John

·
Premium Member
10,287 Posts
I've been using Streets and Trips for a few years

That would be the "Similar to the stuff available for PC" part of it
You would think with all those laptops Apple is selling, someone would jump on this. :(

·
Registered
2,198 Posts
jlcinc wrote:
I am a bit confused why do you need software? I don't use software for map driving directions, I just go to maquest.ca and put in the starting and ending address. Gives me a map or written instructions to the door.

Short answer: Mapquest? [email protected]#[email protected]#?

Long answer: I've been using Streets and Trips for a few years, and it's far better than Mapquest, if only on the merit of its user interface[1]. I find using S&T faster, easier, and far more pleasant than using Mapquest. Plus I can use it even if I don't have a connection to the internet (useful when you're in the middle of nowhere with just a laptop).

[1] Mapquest just reinforces my idea that web browsers suck when it comes to running applications.

·
Registered
42 Posts
IS there any new apps out there?

I started working with a small delivery company and want street maps on my mac while im working. Mapquest will not work because I need multiple locations and no internet in the car.

·
Premium Member
11,953 Posts
Google Earth can do this quite easily as well. There's also a plethora of iPhone apps for this purpose. I often load my directions in Google Maps prior to leaving the house, so no internet connection needed.