Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in search of a program that would allow me to use my Mac (Pismo or G4 Sawtooth) to do audio recordings for a radio broadcast (onto cassette tape). I would like to blend music into the background of voice at various volumes. Do i actually need a soundboard for something like this, or is there software that can accomplish this? How does one hook up to a basic stereo for the actual recording? Or, would I do it all on my drive and then somehow upload it to a cassette recorder? As you can tell, I am new to Mac recording. Any cheap but good shareware programs out there that you recommend?

·
Registered
369 Posts
Best software that is FREE is Protools FREE. You can download it at www.digidesign.com in their download section. It runs on OS 9 and not 10. It's an 8 track recording software that is a "slimmed" down version of what the profestionals use. A very useful program. Perfect for radio promos or whatever you throw at it. As far as getting the sound on your tapedeck....just take the audio out on your Mac and run it into the audio in on your deck....hit record on your tape deck and press play in ProTools and there ya go!! Happy recording

Sean.

·
Vorlon Ambassador
5,295 Posts
just take the audio out on your Mac and run it into the audio in on your deck.
If you want a little more detail on how to do this... all you have to do is get a converter cable from radioshack with a mini stereo plug on one end and two RCA plugs on the other end. Plug the mini-plug into the Mac and the RCA plugs into the stereo. Actually I think the converter cable has female RCA plugs so you can just add a cable with male plugs on each end.

·
Premium Member
1,304 Posts
You can also download Deck 3.5 from Bias . They make great audio editing software and they have a full-featured trial available for download. They have both OS X and OS 9 software available.