Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings

Im sick and tired of scouring Ehmac & Craigslist for a used mac to tide me over until September when I plan on purchasing a macbook pro.

I have even considered messing with x86 nonsense

But common sense prevailed and I decided not to.

Is their anywhere in the GTA where I can rent / lease a Mac , preferbly a Macbook Pro for about 3months

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Why not buying it now? Are you waiting on the Leopard Lottery? :D

Cheers,

Scott
Leopards more like a plus

I chose rather then charge it or have the parents (im a student) charge it. To scrimp and save and get leopard and an iPod along the way.

But im REALLY finding the PC world unbearable , i usually love being on the computer. But this is getting just plain painful.

·
Premium Member
953 Posts
Is their anywhere in the GTA where I can rent / lease a Mac , preferbly a Macbook Pro for about 3months
In my experience renting Macs is pretty expensive. A 3 month rental will likely cost the same as purchasing a refurb MBP from the Applestore. It is actually much more cost effective to BUY the Mac and then resell it a few months later at a depreciated price.

·
Premium Member
31,013 Posts
Funny that's what I told him ;)

We do that all the time for clients that need an intermediate solution between rent and lease.

Sell an open box unit with a guaranteed buy back depending on the time needed.

·
Premium Member
3,899 Posts
You are looking at about 12% per month of the purchase price for a short term rental. So til the beginning of Sept. that's about 48% of the price to purchase. The only time this makes sense is if you KNOW you do not want to own any of the current models, but you do need to use a machine. Or if you have a short term project, like a 3 month movie shoot, and no capital budget.

Go buy a MacBook now for $1399, then sell it in September for $ 900

·