Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Mac Guru
14,627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are good, high-quality printers for an affordable price? Like Epson, HP, etc... looking for some recommedations (that works under v10.3 Panther).

·
Registered
630 Posts
I have been using an Epson Stylus Photo 1200 since 1999. I believe it has been replaced with the 1280, but is basically the same printer. I use it primarily for graphics (11x17 format) work and the reproduction quality is stunning (especially on Epson Media). Anything printed in colour should be printed on Epson media (or HP or Canon etc..) Prints (other than text) done on normal bond are poor by comparison. Ink jet printers such as mine are costly to run, so if you tend to print lots of text or reproduction quality isn't a huge issue then a laser printer is probably the cheapest in the long run. Printer companies make their money on the consumables. In a perfect world we would have a laser printer for text and a ink jet for colour/graphics. Take a look at the Epsons, in the four years I've owned the 1200, it has never given me any grief (the drivers from Epson worked just fine on OSX) and continues to produce print quality that blow people away (photographs and/or graphic layouts)

·
Registered
110 Posts
We use the 1280 and it's a great printer for the money.

Plays nice with everything. And fast.

·
Registered
630 Posts