Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking into upgrading my desktop system, which is currently PC, but I'm thinking of replacing it wiht a powermac. I'm still pretty new to macs and most of my research was on laptops. My questions are...what is sawtooth and what's quicksilver? Is quicksilver a term for the colour of the case?

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Yes, but it also refers to the generation of the machine.

A Quicksilver is a more recnt machine than a Sawtooth.

Both are older machines. I guess you're looking at used?

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah...I think I have to go used for cost reasons. I'd like a G4...I'm not sure how fast I need. The speeds sort of confuse me...in the sense that I don't know how a G3 @ 900mhz would compare to a G4 @ 900...or 867. What's the most recent G4 powermac? I can't afford a G5 but i can be a pretty demanding user.
Which would be why I'm already looking into upgrading from this iBook to a powerbook and it's only been since november since I bought it. I love it though. It's definately converted me to an apple lover.

·
Registered
154 Posts
What's the most recent G4 powermac?
The most recent G4 Powermac would have to be the MDD (Mirror Drive Doors). They are dual 1.42 GHz G4 processors. I think they come as $1799 for the Single processor, and $2499 for the Dual Processor. You might want to check the price.

Hope this helps you out a bit

Eric C.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks! That brings up another question. How does a duel processor system compare to a single?

·
Registered
466 Posts
Look for a level 3 cache. For example my 733 mhz 'Quicksilver' is slower than the older generation 'Digital Audio' @ 533 mhz. Or the 'Quicksilver' 867 mhz is a lot faster than just the mhz difference would suggest.

·
Registered
346 Posts