Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
990 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Airport Express connected to a USB printer that I can't get rid of. Having that on the network will basically slow it down to G speeds, right, meaning I shouldn't bother with an upgrade to N, right?

·
Registered
236 Posts
The printer will be plugged in a USB port?
I'm not an expert, but I don't think it will slow down.

My reasoning:
You send the document to the network, it is then passed to the printer, the printer responds by sending it to the network and the network passes the message to the computer. Since the printer never needs access to the wireless part it won't slow it down. This would only works if the printer is wired by USB to the network.

But you do not need to upgrade to N, that is your choice.

·
Registered
990 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Actually, the need to upgrade to N is to be on the 5Ghz band, so that I don't have to deal with the interference from the 30 wireless networks in the vicinity. My Mac Mini won't be on the network wirelessly, because it's G and will slow down the network, and will be connected via enet.

But to my question: the USB printer is plugged into the Airport Express, which is connected wirelessly to the network. If you're right, and the device only connects (and slows down) when there is a document sent, then I'm not going to worry about it. But if it's there, and idle, will it still slow the network down? (for file transfers) . . .

·
Premium Member
3,354 Posts
It shouldn't slow down the entire network especially if it is only active when transmitting a document. I'm sure that I'll be called out if I am wrong but, really, unless you are doing massive documents it shouldn't make that much of a difference even if it slows down the entire network.

·
Registered
236 Posts