Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received Photoshop 7 for Christmas :D and I am now looking for an instructional book. I did a search on amazon.com and found a ton of different Photoshop books
. I am an amateur photographer and have used Deneba's Canvas for a few years, and now finally made the jump to Photoshop.
Can anyone recommend a good instructional book for beginners.

·
Premium Member
1,048 Posts
photoshop 7 for dummies is great for quick references.
Next, I would buy the book that deals with what you will use PS 7 for. Most books are strong in some area and weak in others. The wow books are great for showing specific tricks. Adobe classroom in a book are also good for that. (it is at my local library-kitchener) Other than that, head to the big book stores for the afternoon and scan through the many many choices.
Robert

·
Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info Robert.
head to the big book stores for the afternoon and scan through the many many choices.
The problem that I have here in Whitehorse is that I went down to our only small book store and found only a couple of high end books. I have to rely on amazon.ca or chapters.ca for my browsing and it is hard to tell what the books are like.
I thought of a Dummies book to start but wasn't sure. I plan to use Photoshop for scanned photo artistic manipulation and touch-ups.
Maybe I will start with the Dummies

·
Registered
268 Posts
Kirtland...

You mighty consider obtaining a copy of Adobe Photoshop 6 Classroom in a book. Comes with CD. I found it easy to follow in Photoshop 7.

It is very.. very close to photoshop 7, and available in Coles bookstores, and should be available on ebay, etc.

Maybe some eMac dudes have copies??
:D

·
Premium Member
6,795 Posts