Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
886 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey folks, I am a new photographer and am looking to pick up a good easy package that would grow with me over the years. My main desire is for a good organizer and the ability to have some fun editing. I have a mid 2007 iMac with 4GB of memory and the last update available (El Capitain). I may be updating to a new system soon.
I would like to also be able to work with Raw files. I have been looking at Lightroom if I could buy it as a stand alone, and PS Elements 15. ACDSee.
I have no real experience with photo editing other than Photos and I do not like it.
Please feel free to offer your suggestions.
Thanks.

·
Premium Member
17,976 Posts
I'll leave the software recommendations to folks who work at a higher level than do I in photography...

But I will state that 4gb of RAM - IMHO - is barely enough to run El Capitan, let alone add Lightroom or something on top of it with possibly RAW image files. That model supposedly can be brought up to 6gb, though I'm not sure I'd consider it worth the investment. Given the age of the processor... a decade old.... it most likely makes more sense to put any $$$ toward that new system you mentioned.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
86,945 Posts
Hey folks, I am a new photographer and am looking to pick up a good easy package that would grow with me over the years. My main desire is for a good organizer and the ability to have some fun editing. I have a mid 2007 iMac with 4GB of memory and the last update available (El Capitain). I may be updating to a new system soon.
I would like to also be able to work with Raw files. I have been looking at Lightroom if I could buy it as a stand alone, and PS Elements 15. ACDSee.
I have no real experience with photo editing other than Photos and I do not like it.
Please feel free to offer your suggestions.
Thanks.