Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a beige G3 with 768 MGs RAM and processor speed around 430 (as per the profiler). I am told that with XPostFacto I could possibly install Panther. I already have a partitioned drive with Jaguar 10.2.8. It works. It' s slow.

Would installing Panther be worth the drive to Acton? And/Or am I asking for trouble technically trying to push an older machine?

PS I am not a techie.

·
Registered
802 Posts
I, too, am interested in this topic. I am also interested in ehMac members' experiences with Jaguar on a Beige G3 - I would like to set mine up to convert vinyl to CDs and to run iTunes with all it's neat stuff.

Maybe not? :confused:

·
Premium Member
6,795 Posts
I know a couple of people that now have Panther running on Beige G3s via XPostFacto. They all say that it is faster than Jaguar, but has some odd quirks[1] such as all their RAM showing up as only one DIMM.

[1] Nothing that you can't live with though.

·
Mac Guru
14,627 Posts
It can be done via xPostFacto, indeed. I did it myself, and it runs better than Jaguar - much better, no, but better it does. However, sice Panther is not supported on the Beige G3, you will see strange things like PosterBoy pointed out; such as all your RAM as a single massive DIMM. Whether or not it's worth is - probably not. I just did it because I'm a true Mac geek. :D

Better and faster than 9.1?
Yes, 9.2.2 is better than 9.1 - 9.2.x adds more support to the Beige G3 and adds new video drivers and other good updates.

·
Registered
609 Posts
Jaguar runs great on any Beige, better on machines with at least 300mhz and 256mb ram. Finder copying/networking is faster than 9.2.2(which is faster than 9.1), browsing in Safari is faster than any browser in 9.x, etc. and there are new apps that are X only. For example, VLC will play almost any .avi file without conversion, unlike tricks necessary in OS9.x.