Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Warning: Newbie review, apologies to the experts for not being able to give enough technical detail

Hey everyone,

Being on en email mailing list finally paid off as I was sent an offer for a free Apple seminar on the Future of Digital Production. It took place last night at the York event Theatre in Toronto.

They covered Final Cut Pro 4, Logic, Shake and DVD Studio Pro 2.

I was a total newbie going into this, as my digital experience consists of iMovie 2 and 3

I do not work in a production field, but do work in television financing. I also studied tv production and some film in college. I did just purchase Final Cut Express, so I thought attending this seminar would be good for me.

Anyway, venue was great! Was given a sample tutorial DVD for FCP and DVD Studio upon entering. Beer, wine, and bottled water were being handed out for free at the bar as well as some chips and dip.

For the presentation they used two separate Mac G5 dual 2 ghz systems. Man, those machines are fast! For each software, they used a Mini Cooper ad that has yet to hit to tv screens.

Although some of the technical stuff went in one ear and out the other, Final Cut Pro 4 looks awesome! As I have yet to use my FCE, I can't really compare it to anything. The thing that blew me away the most was the music/sound options. There's a zillion royalty free music clips to choose from, including many instruments. The cool thing is you can add several different music clips and they will sync together in rythym! Rendering times were absolutely lightning fast. There’s also a realtime preview button. FCP4 drew lots of oohs and ahhs from the crowd. They had no info on the release date for it yet.

Logic is a music/sound software. The rep basically plugged his keyboard into the Mac and was able to emulate every instrument every created. Very cool.