Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Macs and downloaded ICQ and Netscape but when I double click on the icon in the download file it gives me a message "There is no default application specified to open the doc." What application do I use to set up new software?

Thanks,

Hockeymom_4

·
Premium Member
17,976 Posts
Hiya Hockeymom, and welcome to EhMac!

Somewhere on your computer there should be a program called "Stuffit Expander". IF it's not immediately obvious, you can find it by going to the Finder and pressing Command-F ("Command" is the key to the left of your spacebar). Then type in "expander" and hit (return).

Once you've found it, you can drag-and-drop the downloaded files (ICQ or Netscape) on top of the Stuffit Expander icon, and they should "decompress".

Once decompressed, if it is a folder, open it and double-click on the installer. Sometimes the decompressed item is just the installer, not inside a folder.

Let us know if that works...

:D
M

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by CubaMark:
Hiya Hockeymom, and welcome to EhMac!

Somewhere on your computer there should be a program called "Stuffit Expander". IF it's not immediately obvious, you can find it by going to the Finder and pressing Command-F ("Command" is the key to the left of your spacebar). Then type in "expander" and hit (return).

Once you've found it, you can drag-and-drop the downloaded files (ICQ or Netscape) on top of the Stuffit Expander icon, and they should "decompress".

Once decompressed, if it is a folder, open it and double-click on the installer. Sometimes the decompressed item is just the installer, not inside a folder.

Let us know if that works...

:D
M
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't seem to have the Expander

·
Premium Member
17,976 Posts