Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright , im sure this question has been asked umpteenth times , but everyones situation is different so bear with me

In lieu of my Macbooks untimely demise "RIP November 8th 2006 - April 23rd 2007

I have decided....with much reluctance of my friends and family to purchase a new Macbook/Pro

Im a student , I web surf , download loads of music (legally) and videos ( not so legally). I use iPhoto , Photoshop ( VERY LIGHTLY) , iMovie ( more and more everyday) and I would really like to get into serious photography as soon as i buy a D SLR & Aperture ( which wont happen soon due to this new macbook purchase)

I also plan to use Windows XP for Gaming , specifically Counterstrike : Source and HL2 .

I was using a Macbook C2D 1GB RAM 2.0 , I was happy with its speed , imovie had some lag but was livable. But never tried the gaming thing or any professional apps ( that I would really like to learn)

I have a 19inch external set up for the macbook , but want to move upto a larger display.

So , without much further ado

Macbook
* 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 1GB memory
* 80GB hard drive1
* Double-layer SuperDrive

Ships: 1-2 business days
Free Shipping
$1,350.00

OR

Macbook Pro

* 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 1440 x 900 pixels
* 1GB memory
* 120GB hard drive1
* 6x double-layer SuperDrive
* ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 graphics with 128MB SDRAM

Ships: 1-2 business days
Free Shipping
$1,999.00

What purchase would you recommend , keeping in mind this would be done on a loan from family and paid off with a student job.

·
Registered
781 Posts
Buy refurbished if you can, much more attractive pricing.

That said, I would buy the MacBook on price alone. For what you're doing, it will perform fine (though not brilliantly). Take the money you save to buy more RAM and a bigger display, since you expressed interest in that.