Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok guys im a wanna be switcher...
we recently brought a new PC (with Vista) cause our old one craped out on us.. and cause everything we had was windows... plus hubby plays games...

i would like to switch to a macbook.. because i want a laptop for mobility reasons...

while our Vista run machine works nice with C&C and AofE for hubby it dont work so good with my RAW files.. Im a photographer.. when i try and TAG my images for ease of finding it locks up...(via the Explore)

the main reason hubby says no to a Mac is the price so im trying to find a second hand 13.3 Macbook...for abt $1000

So here are my questions....

Will a 1.83GHz Duel Core with 512ram be fast enough to do what i want?? working with PSE 3 till i can upgrade to 4?(if i go with this option i can hook up a dvd burner via USB to it yes??)

or will i denfinatly have to spend more for a 2GHz Duel 2 Core with 1GB ??

second Question... is about TAGing images.. can this be done via macs equivilant to explore?? a seperate image taging proggie??

am i able to View RAW image files right in OS X with out the need to open yet another program??

Vista has this capability with a download of something from Nikon for my camera??

and last question.... i need some really good point on why a mac is better ... so hubby can understand please. Ive tried telling him but... ^.^

·
Indigent Academic
8,115 Posts
Computers are like motorcycles
  1. fast is never fast enough
  2. this year's blistering rocket is next year's also-ran....
Get the fastest you can afford (and maybe push the envelope a little) with the most memory. OSX loves memory - get lots. In answering the question "what computer meets my needs?" you need to keep in mind your needs will evolve, and maybe evolve fast espescially when you get a nice easy to use Mac.

·
Registered
375 Posts