Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone tell me roughly what percentage of Mac users are now using OS X?

The last estimate I remember -- probably in a Jobs keynote -- was 25%, but that may be outdated.

SMc

·
Registered
237 Posts
People set in their ways? Well, I've been using Macs since 1984 (still have my 128K logic board), and the move to OS X (version 10.1) was the best thing that ever happened. Yes, OS X 10.0 was rough around the edges, but people had to be brought up to speed on the architectures.

From where I sit, I don't know how much longer I could stand rebooting my computer in 9, when the program I was developing crashed. The amount of wasted time over a year had to be weeks.

If it ain't broke, don't fix it? Ha! OS 9 was so broken it wasn't funny! Patches on top of patches on top of patches - bleech. Three cheers to the engineers who kept it going, but good riddance it's gone.

Jaguar a pain in the rear? Nope, the leaps and bounds the engineers have made in that release are quantum.

I'm wondering if the graphics industry was reluctant to move to OS X because of OS X or was it their dependency on Quark. I can understand that there has to be a real business decision to move to Quark for OS X (especially with their 'activate software' copy protection), but I bet there are folks in graphics that have made the move to OS X without too many growing pains. Speaking of dependancies, from what I understand, Adobe software took a little while to rid itself of the OS 9 memory model. (Did I say patches on top of patches on top of patches?) If you're into Photoshop and Illustrator, you had a wait until the OS X versions were available. But now that they are, what's holding someone back (besides bucks?)