Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, after reading the "Why I use 9.2" thread, I know this might spark quite a debate. But, I will finally be able to use my DP 1 gig G4 soon and want to know which OS version I should use. I have some limited experience in Macs (took some digital photography courses in college) so I'm don't favour either of the available OSs. I have had a PC most of my life.

Which OS do you think is more suited for me, the reliable OS 9.2, or the slower but more stable 10.2? I figure since I have no experience in 9.2 whatsoever, it would be good for me to go straight to Jaguar. It also helps that I have a powerful system.

I will be using my G4 for everyday stuff (internet, word processing, etc), but mostly for video editing (iMovie,FCP)as well as some photo editing (Photoshop).

Thanks for your advice!

·
Premium Member
1,048 Posts
I recently upgraded my G4 to OSX.2. It has been nothing but good times ever since.
The two biggest benefits are multitasking and force quitting. The other perks are not having to mess around with memory alottment and playing russian roulette with the extension manager.
For me, all in all a welcome upgrade which will get better and better.
Robert :confused:
Ps Illustrator rocks in X and I hear Photoshop doesa as well. (saving my pennies for the upgrade.)

·
Registered
28 Posts
r2traps,

Why bother learning an OS that is no longer supported? It won't be updated by Apple and software companies are stopping OS9 development.