Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for some advice on laptops. I'm a photographer and I want to purchase something used that I can basically download images to from a flash card on location. I'd also like the flexibility of shooting to the computer as well. The camera is a canon and runs to the computer via usb. The download program is quite small so I wouldnt need a powerful unit but basically a transfer station because processing would be done back in the studio. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

·
Premium Member
1,794 Posts
The Powerbook G3 Lombards (Bronze keyboard) were the first models to have USB built in. They came in 333 and 400 Mhz. They also have a nice 14" screen. All the newer Powerbooks also have USB. The Powerbook line also has at least one PC card slot.

The iBooks also came with USB. The first ones came in orange, lime or blue clamshell cases. Screen size is 12". I'd avoid these ones unless you find a super deal.

New iBooks come in white and look more conventional. They also have firewire, and other video output options. There are 12" and 14" screen models. These are probably the best value right now. I'm not absolutely positive, but I don't think the iBooks have a PC card slot.

·
Registered
36 Posts
I have a Canon PowerShot A 40 with a 128 mb card and a TiBook, and the combo works great. One of my daughter in laws has the same camera and a 500 mz TiBook and also uses it no problem.

·
Lifetime membership
9,265 Posts
I have a 333 mhz Lombard that I use as my digital darkroom and depository, When I'm out and about I'll haul it around in my bag, When My flash cards fill up I'll empty them into my laptop and then put the laptop to sleep.