Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HEY, learn something new everyday.
IP Over Firewire is built into Panther..

It was a very cool way to be transferring files from my iBook to my Tower. No Target disk mode, both computers in use at the same time!

very Cool!!

·
Premium Member
17,982 Posts
Anybody have the data on transfer speeds, IP over FireWire vs. Ethernet 10/100/1000?

What advantages are there to IPoFW? What disadvantages? If we want to connect multiple machines, are there FW hubs? If so, do FW hubs have the same collision issues that ethernet hubs have? Are there FW Switches?

Oh great guru, we want to know!

:D
M

·
Registered
154 Posts
IP over Firewire is something I have never tried before, but something I have been meaning to research for the longest time. I do high-speed transfers over firewire with 2 PCs in my house. I don't know if IP over Firewire is supported in Windows XP Pro, but I hope that it is.

·
Premium Member
6,795 Posts
Anybody have the data on transfer speeds, IP over FireWire vs. Ethernet 10/100/1000?

FireWire is 400Mbps, so it you have an iBook/iMac/eMac it is definitely faster.

I can just connect two macs with firewire without damaging them?

I'm not sure what you mean by "damaging them", but yes, yes you can.

I don't know if IP over Firewire is supported in Windows XP Pro, but I hope that it is.

In WinXP you can bridge TCP/IP to a firewire port, so theoretically it is possible. Assuming that it works like plugging in an ethernet cable, it should just be plug in and go. I've never tried it though.

·
Registered
234 Posts
You actually have to create a new port configuration in your Panther Network preference pane and select "built-in firewire" before you can start sharing over Firewire 400. (There's also a 6 to 4 option and I wonder what that's for...I wonder if the protocol works at Firewire 800 speeds as well...)