Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Canadian By Choice
117,692 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the current and near-term status of Inkwell and a compatible voice recognition software program for the latest versions of OS X? I have been thinking of how these might be a godsend to the learning disabled student, but have heard little about these functions. Anyone in the know re either of these applications?

·
Premium Member
7,115 Posts
I think that the voice recognition is essentially the same as it was in OS 9... or at least it hasn't really evolved beyond it. Come to think of it... does the OS X version even tell jokes? ;)

Inkwell, as far as I know, is essentially the same as using the stylus on a Palm pilot -- using specific short hand strokes to define various special characters, but I think it's a little more than that, maybe? It can understand printed writing... but not script. I'm no expert on it, but I don't think it would allow anyone to work faster than using a keyboard.

I've dabbled with both, but that's about it.

·
Premium Member
6,795 Posts
Inkwell will recognise plain handwriting and script just dandy, and there are also a lot of shorthand strokes for things like space, return, copy, cut, paste and other common functions.

So both!

--PB

·
Premium Member
7,115 Posts
I just gave it a try with my Wacom Graphite, and it doesn't handle cursive script at all... and I know my writing isn't sloppy. ;)

I tried very easy three-letter words (like ace, are, sat, etc.) which usually result Ink thinking I wrote Mw. :confused:

·
Canadian By Choice
117,692 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·