Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
Newbie here.
I was playing around with my files and I think i have deleted something that's called System Profiler.
I cannot find it anywhere anymore.
As well, when I click on the apple symbol and select ABOUT THIS MAC, i am unable to select MORE INFO.
How do I retrieve this file?
Hope someone can help.
Thanks !!

·
Premium Member
7,069 Posts
To get System Profiler back;

The hard way is to reinstall OS X.
The easier way is to use a program called Pacifist to retrieve it from the OS X Install CD. You'll have to dig through a couple packages - I'm not sure off the top of my head where it will be but it should be in something called Mac OS X Essentials IIRC.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
THANKS CHEALION- for taking the time to explain.
I ended up reinstalling the OS X.
I was able to retrieve SYSTEM PROFILER.
One other question.....since you seem to be an 'expert'.....? :)
Now that I have something under PREVIOUS SYSTEM- if I deleted that, would it have any effect on any of my current software?

Thanks again,
Richierich

·
Registered
278 Posts
One other question.....since you seem to be an 'expert'.....? :)
Now that I have something under PREVIOUS SYSTEM- if I deleted that, would it have any effect on any of my current software?
You did an Archive & Install of your new system. The old system is in the 'Previous System' folder. Dig in there and get all your stuff from the previous set up - applications, your old user account...

Once you have retrieved everything you want from it, you can delete it.

·
Premium Member
31,013 Posts
Maziron
That is incorrect information- - please if you are not SURE you know what you are talking about don't offer advice.

••••

Rich

ALL of User accounts and applications, email, music etc will have been moved from the old OS to the new OS