Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... I have three computers, (Two PCs and a Mac) and they are all pretty much full, and so are two out of three of the external hard drives I have. I think the one I use for backing up my Mac is a 1TB and still has lots of space left. I am an avid photographer and can't go a day without taking at least 20 photos (huge files). I'm also a collector of music, and am trying to learn how to get into making videos (more huge files), too. Add to that all the day to day computer junk I collect, and I have way too much information to organize and get rid of, and very little time to do it.

Any suggestions as to how to approach such a monumental housecleaning task... or the best (and cheapest) way to store the stuff I still want to keep and still have reasonably easy access to?

Thanks in advance! :)

·
Premium Member
10,314 Posts
Well, you can always add more external storage. 1TB drives are not too expensive these days.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
External hard drives....

LOL... I already have three externals, but I'm wondering if I should just add another internal one. I think I have room for one more on my PC and even those are pretty big and cheap nowadays, but that doesn't help me with my Mac storage problem.

I just don't know how to go about organizing an figuring out what goes where! I wish I could have a central storage place that both my Mac and my PC could access from anywhere (is that what a server is?) but for now... just looking for ways to organize better.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,136 Posts
It sound like you're looking for NAS (Network Attached Storage). Load one up with a few 1TB drives and you should be able to store everything you need on there.

aWindows Home server may also be a good chose, the shared folders are also Mac accessible. Here's one I've used and works well: