·
Registered
809 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the page
http://www.apple.com/ca/powermac/design.html
There is a link on the right called
"take a closer look". The photo where the cover is
off shows a beautiful clean and organized interior.
A mac-hating collegue of mine snarled that the
interior looks so clean because
1) there was no memory
2) there are no pci cards
3) there are no cables connecting the components

My question is about #3, I have some experience with
Sun servers (in the $40K and up range) and they are
remarkably clean inside, but they use SCCI.
How about the G5? Have the cables been removed in the photo, or will it really look pretty muchlike that (ok you add memory obviously)

·
Registered
2,198 Posts
I got a chance at WWDC to peer inside a working G5, and the photos are fairly accurate; There isn't much clutter in the case!

Remember, a lot of the things that are added via PCI cards on PCs (e.g., sound cards and network interface cards) are built right into the motherboard on PowerMacs. Unless you're doing something funky chances are you won't need to add PCI cards to a new PowerMac.

·
Premium Member
10,287 Posts
Ha ha... PC folks just can't believe how clean and clutter free it it! Yes there is memory in the photo. (2x 256). Yes there is one AGP card with 3 empty slots. As mentioned, most things are built in like high speed networking, FireWire, Sound etc....

The cables are just really nice and clean!

Tell your friend to look at this image I quickly labeled.

:D

·
Vorlon Ambassador
5,295 Posts
The thing is the cabling doesn't have to be accessed by the user in the PowerMac G5 (unlike PCs) so it's all hidden by Apple. Fans slide into powered slots, so the user doesn't have to touch cables and it's easy to remove some of the fans. HDs slide into their bay and when properly seated slide right into the power and SATA connectors from the sounds of it. PCI cards generally don't require power cables.

·
Premium Member
1,579 Posts