Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. Today I decided that perhaps it is time for me to buy an MP3 player. I'm a student and sometimes it helps to be able to plug-in some tunes while working or pass the time during lunch. My girlfriend has a Sony MP3 player which I never did figure out how to use with our Mac (their is some speculation that it isn't compatible) so I gave up on that project. For myself, I am considering buying an iPod. Originally I thought an iPod Shuffle should suffice (price being the main consideration and a love for all things Apple :D) but then the prospect of tranfering photos had me more convinced that I am destined for an iPod Nano. So, my question is this: Which iPod do you guys (or gals :D) suggest for me? What news/rumors have you guys heard regarding any future iPods? Presently I can't decide between the 2 GB and 4 GB iPod Nano. Not only do I want to listen to music but I would like to store some of my photos as well (which I would say scratches out the Shuffle as an option :p) and what's this about podcasts? Is 2 GB enough? I was planning on hold out from buying an MP3 player because I find cellphones with built in MP3 abilities a more substancial solution but I can always go that route later. So is 2 GB enough? Any comment/suggestions are most welcome. :)

·
Registered
368 Posts
Well, 2GB will be around 500 average-length songs, assuming that you rip them at the default bit-rate of 128kbps. A 4GB Nano would be good for around 1000 songs. There's also an 8GB Nano. Podcasts are frequently at lower bit-rates, so that's less of an issue.