Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
R.I.P. Marc - 01/29/2022
117,654 Posts
I am still trying to decide which Mac to buy, but everyone that has given me advice has suggested that RAM is again getting cheaper, and to "load up" with as much as possible. If you have specific questions, the crowd in ehMacLand is quite knowledgeable......and friendly.

·
Premium Member
3,309 Posts
Double what you got!

The 256MB are a great buy right now!

And you can easily install it yourself in the Customer Installable memory slot on the bottom of your iMac.

IMHO the 512MB are still a little expensive.

What kind of Canadian Prices have you seen:

This is from memory but I have seen.
128MB for $120
256MB for $199
512MB for $399 (down from $429)
All for the iMac and in Canadian Dollars
(Kingston RAM)

·
Registered
454 Posts
The more the better!

If you can afford to max it out, then do it. Buy what you can afford.

I am a graphic designer so my opinion might be a little skewed. By my opinion is you can NEVER have to much ram. Especially if you are running OS X.

I have 768 mb and if I could afford to take 256 out and add 1 gig, to max my system I would.

·
Premium Member
6,788 Posts
In my prefessional Opinion, and my personal opinion, I have to say AS MUCH AS YOU CAN AFFORD!

the SO-DIMM for the user upgradable slot in your iMac should cost you about exactly what Heart said for Kingston RAM, which is probably the best on the market.

--PB

·
Vorlon Ambassador
5,295 Posts
I would say 256MB is a bare minimum... 512MB is a nice average amount... and more than 512 is great if you have the cash and you use RAM hungry apps like Unreal Tournament, Photoshop, etc.

·
Premium Member
1,069 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>What kind of Canadian Prices have you seen:

128MB for $120
256MB for $199
(Kingston RAM)<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hello,

I think you can get better prices at directdial.

I think they had the 512 chip as low as $320 a couple of weeks ago.

James

·
Registered