Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,579 Posts
from the article:
"[...] This was because 10.2.4 uses a completely different TCP stack than previous OS's."

Whoah. I think this article is the last straw. I'm changing my policy. From now on I'm waiting a week.

If I had waited a week after 10.2.3 came out I would not have lost the use of Cubase for a week while they came up with a patch.

Similarly an X11 update wreaked minor havoc with Fink.

I think it's great that Apple's updates come with feature additions and usability tweaks and so on ... this is refreshing to me, a new Mac user.

Still, it pays to be wary of code changes, I should know that, I'm a programmer!

·
Registered
2,812 Posts
I tradionally like ot wait around for comments/bugs etc... I'm not the beta tester and never will claim to be one. But I like to read what's happening with sw after they have been out for a hot minute.

So re: .2.4, I've not seen any issues yet - YET. Will have to pop a DVD to see what happens.

Battery destroying? what exactly is happening?

·
Registered
433 Posts
i like installing the updates right away (i'm what you call an "early adopter"). i have a rev 4 iBook and i had no issues with x.2.4. in fact, x.2.4 was way better than x.2.3, which was causing the occasional crash.

my heart goes out to those users who battery when kaput after the update, but i can't wait for x.2.5!

(we can't all be as sensible as RtC)

Phil

·
Premium Member
5,247 Posts
I think it depends on who you are and what you do with a computer. For home users, it's probably OK to be quick on the updates; a day's wait wouldn't hurt, though.

For mission-critical machines, for me it would be very different. Not only would I wait a week or so, but the updates would be deployed over time, with one or a few machines driven for a while before deploying it everywhere.