Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have come to the end of my rope with Rogers "High Speed" internet service and will now start to look for a different provider. So all I am looking for is suggestions on who I should go with for my high speed.

·
Lifetime membership
9,265 Posts
I've been using Bell Hi Speed for a few years now and the
only thing I don't like about it is that the OSX Mail doesn't
always work that well with it.

The thing that I used to do was to use Yahoo.com for my
mail, But today I've started using Bell's own online mail
system simply called "GetEmail", So far...It seems to work
alright.

The other thing is that downloading isn't always that fast,
Yesterday I was downloading at about 6.9k a second, Today
it's back up to 140k a second.
So it's really just a very iffy kind of service, Sometimes it
runs smoothly for weeks and then all of a sudden it's slug
slow for a day.

My 2¢

Dave :cool:

·
Premium Member
5,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the suggestion, thats kinda what I want to get away from if possible, I would really consistent internet. Rogers has problems supporting mail as well in OSX. In fact they say they dont support it at all.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
86,945 Posts
I use Telus ADSL. I am not sure if it is available in Ontario, but if it is, I would recommend it.

It has never been down, other than for a period of a couple of hours around 3:00 a.m. for a pre-planned upgrade that we were notified about in advance.

My download speeds remain consistent at 140 to 160 kps, depending on the site speed.

Cheers

·
Premium Member
2,182 Posts
Since you are in Waterloo - go with Golden Triangle Online for ADSL service - their rates are very competitive with Bell but the service is better and their upgrade paths are shorter.

·
Premium Member
5,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·