Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help?! OSX fails to start past the blue screen; applications "quitting unexpectedly"

Hi, I have a problem with my Macbook Pro and I can't seem to find any other threads about this... I hope this isn't too wordy of an explanation, but I'm not very technical, so here it goes!

I had to restart my computer last night because my mouse pad and keyboard froze (a not so uncommon occurance) but when it started back up, I got the standard gray screen with the apple, then it went to a blue screen (the same screen I think you see a second before the desktop appears). A window then popped up saying: The airport extreme base station quit unexpectedly but all other OS X applications were functioning properly. (I don't have an airport base station, by the way) The window had the buttons to ignore, report or restart but clicking the buttons didn't really do anything except give me the colour wheel after awhile and then the windows disappeared. I tried restarting again and got the same message and also another message saying Spotlight quit unexpectedly.

I tried leaving the computer on for awhile after the messages dissapeared to see if OS X would start up, but I didn't want to leave it too long, in case some virus was ravaging my hard drive in the mean time. The blue screen just went to another blue-gray screen with the gray time wheel, then back to the more blue screen with out the wheel, and so on.

Has anyone had this problem? Does anyone have any advice?

Thanks!
Christina

·
Premium Member
11,953 Posts
1. There's no such thing as a virus for Mac OS X.

2. It's hard to judge from the scant details you've provided, but you might try an Archive and Install option. If you don't know what that means, have a read up on it. Make sure you have plenty of free space available on the drive. Should take 1/2 hour to an hour depending on your setup.