Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to the community.

I've had my MacBook 160bg intel for a little under 2 years now, and have recently decided to use VM Fusion to get my printer and scanner working (was previously running to my Windows box to use them and I got fed up of that). My scanner is a Canon CanoScan N640P flatbed and has a 25-pin parallel port on the back as well as a power port. I've gotten a parallel-to-USB conversion cable so I can plug it into my mac. My printer is USB and has no trouble.

Installed XP through Fusion and Adobe CS3, loaded my printer drivers and whatnot. All is fine. A test print even proves my printer works in top form! My scanner installation disk was installed, not a problem...

Now that the scanner is plugged in, it tells me that the parallel port is used by another application. What can I do to solve this? I'm a college student in debt and buying a new scanner is kind of not an option at the moment -especially when the bloody thing worked just fine on my Windows desktop running the exact same copy of XP! Strange, eh?!

Anyway, I've tried downloading the scanner drivers from all manner of places (I never had to do it for the Windows machine, but maybe this situation is different, I don't know), and nothing is working. Winzip is being a brat and not letting me unzip files, .exe files keep showing up as needing to be unzipped (what a load of garbage!) and not letting me run them. And I'm not about to pay to use some shifty-looking driver-finding software.

Argh! I switched to macs to leave this crap behind!

If anyone has any tips or solutions, please, I'm all ears!

·
Premium Member
15,709 Posts
Sell the scanner on ehMac. You may find legacy users who are interested in that sort of thing.

You'll need to participate here for a month or so, lots of time to rack up 30 posts asking questions, and saying stuff as important as the rest of us : ) .