Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know the normal read/write noise as a flurry of little rattles. This occurs when I'm installing something.

However, when I'm not actively accessing the hard drive - surfing the web for example - I sometimes here the hard drive working, but maybe twice as loud. Like a clack or cocking of a gun.

Is the OS supposed to periodically access the hard drive like that? Otherwise the disk performs flawlessly and passed the HDD test.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Well, I've had LOTS of experience in dead and dying HDs - ATA, SATA, SCSI - 5.25" - 1.8".

Symptoms of imminent to near-imminent death:

- a new whining drive noise (zzzzzzziiiiinnnnngggg). Drive bearing failure. Will lead to hot drive, and eventual failure.

- 'Clank/Clonk' sound effect, when in use or idling (3.5" drives). Head actuator assembly (electro magnet) is failing.

- Excessive heat on drive (top/bottom), and no fan to cool it (3.5" - ATA, SCSI - 7200-10K rpm). Death within 6 months to a year.

- "An error occured when writing to the drive" or similar message. Sector failures. Toss the drive.

- HD powering up, down, up down. At random. Power connector is loose, or your power-supply is not providing enough start-up voltage/current for 12v provision.

- Drive won't format. Toss it.

Disclaimer:

- Some drives Whirrrrrrrr (spining sound). Like older Fireball Quantums or older Maxtors. They're just loud. Newer drives have fuild-dynamic bearings - both 3.5 and 2.5" drives, so you can't hear them spin even.

- Some 2.5" drives park their heads when a laptop has custom power-saving features enabled. 'Clunk' sound. This is normal.

In my experience, for the last 15 years of pro support and personal use:

- Maxtor dead: 6
- Western Digital dead: 4
- Seagate dead: 1
- Samsung dead: 0
- Toshiba dead: 1
- Fujitsu dead: 2
- IBM dead: 2
- Quantum branded dead: 2
- Connor dead: 3
- Winchester dead: 1