Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there...I have a few questions that I thought I'd just ask all at once...sorry I'm a newbie...

does anyone know if you can hook up a typical CRT (19" 0r 21") to the new 17" powerbook? The powerbook has the wide format screen so (if it can) does it transfer to a full screen on a CRT?...and can you use any brand?

Also, any idea if I'll be able to use my *sorry*...microsoft natural keyboard pro (ps/2 and usb both needed), and my Intellimouse optical (USB)?? I have no idea about hardware issues with Macs yet...sorry!

...what is the "velocity engine" and why is it a good thing?

What's a pc card/cardbus slot (type I and type II) used for??

ok...that's all for now
lol

Hope I didn't annoy anyone (I promise...once I get up to speed I'll be a giver...not just a taker ;)

·
Premium Member
6,795 Posts
The PowerBook 17" has a DVI connector for a second monitor so it can hook up to a Digital LCD monitor, and it also comes with a DVI->VGA connector for CRT displays. You can set up the second display for either mirroring (same thing on both screens) or extended desktop (different stuff on either screen).

The intellimouse Optical should be fine, just go get the newest OS X drivers from the Microsoft.com/mac, the Natural Keyboard Pro I thought only needed the USB connector, not both. If it is just USB as I suspect then yes, it will work fine if it needs the PS/2 adapter then maybe *if* you can find a PS/2->USB adapter (which I have never seen) that is mac compatible.

The Velocity Engine is a part of the G4 processor also known as Altivec. it allows the G4 to process data in 128 bit chunks and has allowed the G4 to keep up with other processors even though it does have the same high numbers of MHz.