Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never done this before, but I thought I'd post my impressions after using my iPhone on the Rogers network for a little over a week. And in case you're wondering I used the Turbo Sim method.

First off, being an absolute Apple Fanboy, I bought the phone in Buffalo at the beginning of July. I quickly hacked it using the Anderson hack and had a nice iPod/WiFi device. Truth be told though, I didn't use it nearly as much as I should have for a few reasons...

1) So nervous about it... Really, I'm prone to dropping things.
2) I still had my 30GB iPod that holds everything.
3) No Phone!

So I got the Turbo Sim Hack... and let me just say WOW.

Finally, I don't have to carry my half broken Moto Razr and an iPod. Goodbye cracked Razr (garbage!), sold my iPod 30GB.

Impressions:

Taking calls is an absolute joy. Really, it makes talking on the phone so much more fun. I love the earphones with the little microphone. Call quality is awesome although the ringer definitely could be louder and the vibrate a touch more powerful (or mabye longer). Love contacts too, so fun scrolling through them, adding photos etc.

Text messaging is incredible. I really never used txt msg'ing on my Moto Razr, but now with the iPhone's incredible keyboard (which I love by the way). I txt message constantly.

I love being able to take photos and upload them to my web gallery! Really an amazing feature:
http://gallery.mac.com/myeventworks#100144&bgcolor=black

Battery life seems good so far. But I generally charge either every night, or every other night.

Ipod of course is incredible, which no doubt you'll all discover when Apple releases a new iPod on Wednesday.

My one issue. ROGERS and EDGE.