Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
454 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All.

I am the graphic Designer at a small commercial printer, and we are looking at buying a digital Camera. Our budget is about $1000-$1500.

I am a 35mm film enthusiast, however I have little to no experience with digital camera's.

Can anyone recommend a good one? For that price range can we get a fully manual one.
I really hate automatic camera's. However it will need to have a automatic mode for some of the less technically minded people there, along with those who have a NO experience with manual exposures etc...

The camera will also have to take high quality photo's as some of them will go to press. Color accuracy is important also.
If our budget is no large enough to allow for a good camera, how big of budget do we need? We would rather spend $2500 and be happy with what we have, the spend $2500 in a year and have a $1000 piece of crap sitting on our shelf.

Any who would be appreciated.

Thanks

·
Canadian By Choice
117,529 Posts
Nick, I have been looking at the Minolta Dimage 7i, the Sony 717 and the Nikon 5700 and have decided upon the Minolta. It has more of the feel of a SLR camera, and is better balanced for my hands. As well, it has a range of 28mm-200mm equivalency to a SLR, which is quite rare (most digital cameras with a high telefoto focal length do not come close to a wide angle focal length of 28mm).

·
Premium Member
17,982 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,247 Posts
Having purchased a Nikon 5000 earlier this year I am very pleased with the camera. The 5700 seems to be identical picture-quality wise; they both run in the 1500-2000 range. Nikon USA seems to be discontinuing the 5000 in favor of the 5700, so deals may be forthcoming soon; Nikon's US web store is offering a $100 rebate (no idea if a Canadian address is eligible though).