Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy everyone...

I am BRAND new to macs and to the DTP world. Trying to learn quark or indesign in a hurry so I can do some of the more basic page layout tasks involved in publishing my 24 page FREE newspaper this spring/summer.

I'm just wondering what the general concensus is out there regarding programs: I need to learn ONE and one only, so should it be quark or indesign???

Which is easier to work with? Is the print industry up to snuff on indesign?

·
Premium Member
7,115 Posts
Acutally, from what I've seen so far, InDesign has borrowed a lot of their layout from QuarkXPress, yet maintained their unique GUI that follow through from Photoshop and Illustrator. What I've read on the net, Adobe did this intentionally to attract Quark users.

So, if you're starting from scratch, go for InDesign. It's better integrated with other Adobe products, has more features that matter and has better support. And I'm a Quark user for all of 7 years, so that's saying a lot.

·
Premium Member
5,423 Posts
I would deffinetly say go for indesign, although I am not very familiar with indesign, I am very frustrated with Quarks products, and customer support. Save yourself some headaches and stick with adobe products if possible.

·
Registered
268 Posts
i'm sure a lot of people wish they had this choice back in the mid-90s. i've been a quark user since '97 and i'll be glad to see it gone for good.

unfortunately, though, it's still a quark xpress world when it comes to publishing.

but you need to ask yourself a couple of questions: will i be dealing with many third parties when it comes to printing? is your printer/bureau set up for handling indesign files? they should be by now. if they aren't, you might consider switching printers.