Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,570 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just received my 24" widescreen monitor. All I can say is WOW!!!!!

It arrived perfect out of the box. The brightness and contrast are more than acceptable. I don't know about colour calibration and whether that is good since I'm not a pro user. For most folks though, I'd highly recommend this monitor if you're in the market for a big screen.

When the next Dell sale comes along don't hesitate to buy. It's a bargain at $799!!!!

·
Registered
990 Posts
I don't like the form factor, but you can't beat the price. There's no HDCP, but there's also no brutal banding issues (as on the Dell 2407s).

·
Registered
10 Posts
Congratulations.

I've had my Dell 2405FPW moniter for about 4 months now.

If you really want your screen to look its best set red, green and blue to 36 - 33 - 32 ( someone posted these settings and it really looks best )

·
Premium Member
1,570 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the info, Mac-Man.

Please excuse my ignorance. How do I put those settings in?

·
Registered
10 Posts
From the moniters main menu. Go to Color Settings, Then User Preset.

Read the Manual !!!!!

I also connected a Roger's Digital Cable Box to my moniter via s-video and can now watch TV at the same time with Picture and Picture

·
Premium Member
1,570 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks, all set up and it looks nice.

BTW, my monitor didn't have a manual in the box. I triple checked. I did find a manual online at Dell support.

·
Premium Member
30,860 Posts
adagio - you might find the monitor too bright if you are in a dim setting. Take it down evenly to 70% for each colour - should help the glare.
If you are in bright room ignore this.

·
Premium Member
1,521 Posts
Mac-Man said:
Congratulations.

I've had my Dell 2405FPW moniter for about 4 months now.