Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to have easy (read: quick) access to my documents/music/apps folders. I guess making an alias to them is the easiest way. I am new to mac so I'm used to "create a shortcut" in windows which I assume is the same as an alias in OS X (correct?). Is there a way to make the alias icons look like the one for the documents, apps, music icons as I see in my sidebar? I am using CandyBar, but even without the cusotm icons I still just see the plain "folder" icon. How can i change the icon so it isnt a boring folder?

·
Premium Member
31,013 Posts
On the original document Hit Command i ( Apple i ) and click on the little square at the top left.

That's where the icon info is stored. You can copy most any image into that square - it will resize..

BTW don't forget the Sidebar as well as the Dock for quick access - you can also delete those in the sidebar you do not need.

If there is an icon already there you like - you can copy it as well. Cut Copy Paste all works in that square.

It's fun and there are loads of icons out there. Even you own photos if you wish. You can do this on your drive icons as well.

InterfaceLIFT: Mac OS X icons (by date)

Whatever turns your crank ;)

·
Registered
16 Posts
I've created directories on an external drive.
I have these directories in the root of Finder.
I can't seem to change their icons.
I'm a noob.
I tried dragging a picture or another file folder to the Preview panel, but it didn't change the icon.
Is there more to it?

Mike

·
Premium Member
31,013 Posts
You mean folders?

You need to copy and paste - I do not believe drag and drop will work into the icon window.

·
Registered
579 Posts
I've created directories on an external drive.
I have these directories in the root of Finder.
I can't seem to change their icons.
I'm a noob.