Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a graphic design student and I am looking for a good scanner to use with my mac. The last scanner I bought was an hp scanner and it didn't work properly, but worked fine on my brothers pc. Can anyone recommend a good scanner that has high resolution and has great quality that will work well on a mac? And that you have used before? I am not to great with looking at all the jargon on the stores website, so I would like an opinion from someone who knows!

Thank you in advance!

Nicole

·
Registered
189 Posts
I use a Epson perfection 1240U photo scanner with excellent results. 42 bit color, 1200x2400 dpi. works well with both mac OS9 or OSx. Its big brother the 1640 or 1650U photo has 48 bit color with 1600x3200 dpi. Good luck.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Well, first, we need to know what your budget is for the scanner, since that will play a large part in our recommendation to you. Secondly, will you ever want to scan-in 35mm slides or negative strips? Lastly, Is speed, cost, or size of any concern? Oh, and are you designing for print or web?

Epson makes some great inkjets and high-end scanners (for Mac and PC), but the low-end to mid-range, IMHO, is dominated by Canon.

Canon's LiDE 20 and LiDE 30 scanners for example are excellent USB 1.1 sub-$150 CDN scanners that are very small, light, and totally Mac compatible. Best of all, they use a high-intensity white LED for scanning and not a bulb; you'll never ever need to replace the bulb. These two LiDE's are just that though - low-end. I have a LiDE 20 and it works great. Got it for $89 CDN at Wal-Mart.

Ultimately, as a graphic designer, you'll want a combination of NATIVE (not interpolated) high-resolution scanning and bit-depth recognition, the ability to scan negatives and 35mm slides, a USB 2.0 and/or FireWire hi-speed connection protocol, etc. However, those will cost you an arm and a leg. And a kidney or two.