Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been doing some price haggling with MacDoc who has offered me a variety of good deals to the point I have probally anoyed him by asking so many questions. But, thanks anyways MacDoc,, I appreciate everything your trying to do.

I want to ask a more general populus on your advice.
Keep in mind, MacDoc is kind of to work with me because I am a poor student..... so I cannot buy a Dual g5...

ANYWHEW, moving up from a g3 b/w 400.
I have an iBook g4 12"

I need a new tower.
MacDoc has recomended a G4 Dual 500 with a Upgraded Video Card
either the gForce MX 4
or the Radeon 900 - bit of a price difference
and a SuperDrive

Do you think this will satisfy my needs.
My needs are as follows.
FCP 4 editing, (dont mind waiting too long for renders)
After Effects (Minimal Compositing)
And Now,, the #1 Reason to Upgrade
GarageBand and my electric guitar, plugging in a jamming making tunes...I know serious tests havent been done yet..
But what do you guys think?

I am trying to spend under a thousand and am willing to use my g3 b/w 400 as a trade..Thanks, any help is apprciated.

·
Premium Member
30,934 Posts
Here's the thinking as most will need to see pricing to make a comment.

Noah has a lot of good stuff in his B&W already so moving that forward on a box to box basis for $690 to the DP 500 seemed the least expensive route for a video suite as it preserved what he had already bought and had good options down the road.

I then gave him a choice of few "treats" video card, etc which really are not critical and a Superdrive which was a "priority.
It was the best rendering in that price range...as he says starving student.

He already had this to move forward all of which worked fine in the DP
640 Megs Ram
52X CD R/W
20 Gig HD
120 Gig HD