Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey im new to mac and i might be buying one its a imac 20 inch g5 with a 2.1 powerpc prossessor and has 1.5 gb of ram and a 250 gb hd and a ATI Radeon X6000 XT graphics how much should i pay for it and also how long would it be before i need a new one/ upgrade because its will be to crappy to preforme and how will it run, slow, fast please help sorry for all the questions im new. i hope this is the right section to post this lol :p

·
Premium Member
11,953 Posts
Hey im new to mac and i might be buying one its a imac 20 inch g5 with a 2.1 powerpc prossessor and has 1.5 gb of ram and a 250 gb hd and a ATI Radeon X6000 XT graphics how much should i pay for it and also how long would it be before i need a new one/ upgrade because its will be to crappy to preforme and how will it run, slow, fast please help sorry for all the questions im new. i hope this is the right section to post this lol :p
It's the right section, though you'll get more responses if you'll use some punctuation and paragraph breaks next time.

The iMac model you're talking about is old: at least three, could be almost four years old now. It's by no means a bad machine, quite the contrary -- but if you're hoping to do all the "latest and greatest" on it, I think you'll find yourself needing a new one fairly soon. It does have USB2 and FW400, which is really nice, and an iSight which is very useful.

I think you'll find it speedy enough (I'd give it more RAM if I were you) for most apps/internet these days, and for some time to come yet, but don't plan on hanging on to it for more than a couple-three years, and if you're a gamer or "bleeding edge" type then you can change that down a year or two.