Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at web design, with some basic experience and HTML guides, but would like to learn, mainly for personal interest. Been recommended Dreamweaver or GoLive, but can't really justify the $$$.

Any advice or help?

Thanks!
Dave [email protected]

·
Premium Member
1,304 Posts
This is hilarious! I was just about to post the same type of question.

I want to know if anyone can suggest a good (and hopefully free) web design tool for the absolute novice.

I just want to be able to type some text in, add a few links to it, drag and drop some pictures in and voila! ...instant webpage.

Any ideas?

·
Premium Member
2,260 Posts
for free you cn use the one that comes with mozilla or Netscape
Some old iMacs had Adobe Page Spinner bundeled and now floating around on ebay for $10 or so.
I jst downloaded Visual Page and it looks pretty cool for most folks and I think its about $75
Or you can just by a $30 book like HTML for the world wide web by Peachpit press.
Thats the book I used to make many web pages dfrom scratch code and it explains everything from square one in a quick simple fashion.
There is a cheaper version of Dreamweaver for windows only.
I was using Dreamweaver MX kast year on someone elses machine, and downloaded a trial but it expired long ago.
If you are making web pages for a business Dreamweaver is the best, otherwise, try to find a cheaper alternative like Visual Page or Page Spinner.
DW is getting pretty bloated these days anyway. Remember DW also has built in site mangement tools, and all kinds of extra stuff that would take about 6 months to get famallier with.
People used to like Claris homepage but its been abandoned but still works well in Os9, I think Word and Apple works can save to html files.
I started off with just the book above noted and simpletext.
You can download a trial of Visual Page from Tucows and maybe some other programs too