Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I have tried out two since the start of the app store. Tom Tom and Navigon. I haven't ever had them on my iPhone so I have limited experience with either. Tom toms app seemed a little better coded and didn't tend to be as slow or buggy, but some of the navigon features I liked as well. I used these in the early stages of GPS apps coming out, so I assume they are a lot better now. I currently have a 3G so I don't want to get the app until I get my hands on an iPhone 4 because ios 4 on my 3G is slow as it is. My main concern is that the app must have turn by turn navigation with speech. I often just use google maps right now, but it is sometimes hard to follow while driving alone.

Secondary question, anyone know how Ontario's law on handheld devices interprets a phone running gps software if it's mounted?

·
Registered
121 Posts
I have run Navigon on my 3GS and now the iPhone 4. I think it works better than my old Garmin nüvi 660. They keep updating the Navigon software so it keeps getting better. I have not used the Tom Tom software.

I have mine mounted on my dash using a Proclip and have never had any issues.

·
Registered
10 Posts
I have both Tom Tom and Navigon as well as Motion X & Sigic .

My vote right now is on Navigon. It just so much more polished and seems to get updated more often.

I still keep Tom Tom and Motion X GPS Drive on my phone in case the map on Navigon fails me.

So far I haven't opened Tom tom in a couple of months an use Navigon a few times a week.

·
Premium Member
1,168 Posts
I just picked up navigon on sale for $30.

I find it very nice if you are headed to a biz and can find it in the POI database or Google local search (it's built in).

But I find the way that you have to enter the address of the location it often does not work, especially if you are headed to a spot you have never been.