Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,950 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I will be all over the place, I want to get a GPS unit for my travels. Now, I have never used GPS before, so I am not sure if the features I want are available.

I will be taking lots of photos, and I would like to be able to mark the location in my GPS if I want to come back for more pics (Or if I find a great place but dont have my camera, then I can go back to the exact location). I don't know what this would be called in the GPS world though.

I would like to be able to grab maps of the locations I will be going so it is easier to get around, and so I can also look up coordinated online of good places to go while I am in the area (I have seen sites with GPS codes for cool places).

Of course, the ability to zoom in/out on an area ala Google Maps is something I would like to do as well. I am thinking of spending between $500-$800 on a unit. Anybody have any recommendations?

·
Registered
6,500 Posts
Are you sure your friend didn't input an address 25km away from the actual address? :D I mean seriously it should occur to people that the actual roads and the roads on the map don't quite jive...

MyPio or Mio or whatever it was has a little pocket sized GPS for urban walkers...

·
Premium Member
2,950 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sorry, yes, I am looking for Handheld :D Thanks SINC haha.

·
IAMSTIG
2,676 Posts
i'd strongly recommend Garmin Their 60CX line is a good starting unit that would do what you want as it'll take external cards that can hold mapping information.

A couple of general tips..

• Get one that has a removalbe memory card
  • I'd spring for color if budget allows
  • Garmin has decent OSX support
  • Taking a point of your current location is called a Waypoint. All basic GPS's will do this