Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

This is my first post and I am not sure if this topic has been previously addressed, but I will post it anyway.

Being a Mac lover, I want to use as much Apple software on my Mac as possible. So a while ago I installed Apple's Mail program and stopped using Entourage. There are a number of things that frustrate me about Mail however.

There doesn't seem to be any support for CSS. As a web developer I design and send out HTML emails for clients, but Mail does not render CSS and has difficulty with tables. Has anyone heard whether Apple is going to rectify this?

I love the Junk filter, but there is also no way that I know of to read replies to messages from the original as you could in Entourage.

These are only a couple of issues, but I would love to hear other opinions on this topic. I don't want to go back to Entourage, but may be forced to if Apple doesn't get this together.

Thanks.

·
Registered
719 Posts
I hate you! I hate people that send CSS or other web $%#&$ as e-mail. RTF if you must, plain text if you please.

·
Premium Member
2,804 Posts
I agree with Britnell. Well, sort of. I don't hate you. You seem quite polite. I'm sure you mean well, but HTML email is terrible. Here's why:

Bad for email readers:
it's inconsistent, it invites nasty spam (what if the email has a link to an image on a web server
- a spammer can easily verify addresses with codes in the URL). It's a good idea to turn it off.
- it's big. It clogs the internet and takes longer to download (especially if you are on dialup)

Bad for senders:
- you get people mad at you ;)
- email clients are inconsistent (lots of people use, and prefer, text only email)
- some people turn off HTML rendering, others filter it straight to the trash

Best solution: send plain text email with a link to a web page with your ad, message, whatever.