Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I confess, I am a convert to the dvorak keyboard mapping. I've been using it as my primary mapping at work and at home for at least a year. My speed is up 75 wpm - it used to be around 60 with Qwerty. I did a lot of practicing in the first couple months to get it up to 40wpm and it just naturally increased through normal use after that. I am a C programmer and wordy emailer, who always capitalizes and punctuates.
Just wondered if any other citizens have experience with Dvorak or use it regularly.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Y'know, I always wanted to use Dvorak. QWERTY has always been awkward.

Then again, that comes as no suprise since it was designed to slow typists down on old strike-the-ribbon-with-the-hammer typewriters at the turn of the century.

The question is, how would one adopt Dvorak? I guess you could just rip the keys out of your keyboard and replace them in the Dvorak layout, and use the "keyboards" control panel to set it. But is there any fomal training to use Dvorak, other than trial-and-error hunt-and-peck? Like a Mavis Beacon teaches Dvorak?

-SJ.

·
Premium Member
1,579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did most of my learning on a PC using TypingMaster, dvorak version. There are also some online tutors.
Once you are past the initial stage, using normal text is quite effective. This is because the difficult keys occur less frequently, unlike with Qwerty. (If you want to practice the difficult keys, use a Qwerty typing tutor and start at the beginning). The other key is that you never look at the keyboard. Use a piece of paper, taped to the lower edge of the monitor, until you don't need it anymore. Then when you want to learn the []{}.,;|\ stuff, write some code

Here's my keyboard:
`1234567890[]
',.pyfgcrl/=\
aoeuidhtns-
;qjkxbmwvz

And again, with the Shift key held down:
[email protected]#$%^&*(){}
"<>PYFGCRL?+|
AOEUIDHTNS_
:QJKXBMWVZ