Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well this isnt going the be the most popular thread, but I would be interested in knowing fellow canadian (or other!) scientists and mac lovers.

As for me, I am doing a PhD at McGill in molecular biology and immunology.

At last some real sunshine in Montreal today, but gotta spend in the lab!

Best regards to all.

·
Registered
778 Posts
I'm not really a scientist, but I did stay in a holiday inn express last night.....

:D

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi guys..!

I know macs are real big in DNA/Protein sequence analysis, alot of great software is written for MacOS X, although the prices for these is horrendous, as well as the licensing fee for each additional machine running it.

I guess the best place to meet scientists are those annual conventions and sleeping in those crappy hotels kilometres away.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Well, no - not always...

I'm a molecular biologist/bioinformatician working at CSCHAH in Winnipeg. And yeah, I use a whack of OSX stuff on a regular basis :)

-SJ.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hi SpanishJoe, nice to meet another scientist! So, what kind of OS X software do you run ?

·
Registered
246 Posts
My brother just got his Ph.D. in Neurophysiology and he says his lab pretty much uses all Macs.

I got him an iBook a while back so he got hooked too. Now he goes around switching his fellow scientists. It's quite funny listening to a bunch of scientists talking about Macs.

Cheers,

Sander.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Hi Vox - To answer your question:

- Sequencher (in Classic)
- MacVector (OSX)
- VectorNTI (OSX)
- Staden package - (Gap4 in OSX)
- X11 access to GCG running on Sun UltraEnterprise 450
... and more - mostly compiled and running in the terminal, like Genetech's BLAST algorithm.