Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Future Shop is flogging wireless base stations for $49.99 on its web site at the moment and I was just wondering...why would a Mac user pay $299 for an Airport base station when they can have another brand for far less?

I am just trying to see the real benefit is all.

·
Registered
129 Posts
The AEBS does offer a couple of nice things over most other base stations.

It offers wireless bridging so two base stations can be connected together without wires.

It also offers transceiver power control so you can limit the range of the base station. Not all routers offer this.

But I can't see why someone would shell out the money unless they needed these features. Especially when the D-link G router now selss for less then $100 bucks.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Sort of a wireless newbie here...

I was under the impression that non-Airport wireless routers didn't work with Macs? Do your posts imply that if I got an Airport card for my imac that I could use it with our Linksys wireless router at home?

Thx-

J.

·
Premium Member
7,069 Posts
jamied - Airport is 802.11b, and Airport Extreme is 802.11g. All the names are is way to market them, so yes your Mac can connect to other routers just fine, though some people have some problems with WEP Passwords (usually just have to add a $ in front of the password if it doesn't work).

·
Registered
129 Posts
Yes. I have been using the D-link 624 router since November with my Airport equipped Powerbook. No issues whatsoever.

·
Registered
96 Posts