Canadian Mac Forums at ehMac banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, let just say I'm new to this board becasue I'm thinking about getting my first Mac.

I'm looking into getting the following system:

Power Mac G4 Dual 867Mhz
256mb PC2100 DDR Ram
80GB Ultra ATA HD
SuperDrive
ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Dual display 64mb DDR

I'm also consifdering adding another 512mb of DDR ram aftermarket for $200, Apple charges too much to have them add it. As for a monitor, I'll have to share this Mac with my P4 PC and it's 17" Samsung monitor. But maybe next year I'll get a secong larger CRT monitor or 17" LCD.

So since this is my first time gettign a Mac, I would appreciate any feedback. I want to use this machine for video editing and graphics work, so I'll be running apps like Premiere, AfterEfects, Photoshop, Illustrator, Director, the usual bunch of multimedia apps. I know that his machine can run this apps fine. I'm more concerned about my hardware selection. I decided to avoid the iMac and eMac becasue I want to be able to upgrade this machine so it can last me atleast 5 years, maybe up to 7. I'm a student so spending close to $4000 is a big investment for me right now, so I want it to last.

Should I hold out for the next batch of G4 or is it a safe time to buy? I don't want to buy this rig and then next month have a new batch of G4 comeout with all these new features.

Thanks.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Here's an update. I contacted my college bookstore and they can get me the following setup for $2779 (before tax) and it would take around 2 weeks to get.

Power Mac G4 Dual 867MHz w/133MHz system bus
60GB Ultra ATA drive
Combo Drive (DVD/CD-RW)
256MB PC2100 DDR SDRAM - 1 DIMM
ATI Radeon 9000 Pro dual-display w/64MB DDR
Apple Pro Keyboard - U.S. English
Apple Pro Speakers
No modem (since I use highspeed Internet)