: Editing Panasonic's TM700's 1080/60P Video on a Mac

imobile
Oct 31st, 2010, 10:43 PM
I am new to the world of HD video

And I have a new 'toy' to go with my Mac and am wondering if I'm alone?

BACKGROUND ~
I have a huge collection of Hi8 ( old Canon 2000 of 1990's ) and more recent Digital 8 tapes ( old 2003Sony Digital 8 TRV-720 ) which utilized Hi8 tapes at 2x recording speed to significantly improve quality compared to Canon's Hi8.
And the Sony could digitize the older Hi8 tapes and import them into iMovie. ( important as I have 60 of them covering 1994-2010.)

Now having splurged six months ago on a HDTV ~ a Samsung 50" plasma ~ led to further 'needs'. The old video technology, despite the history and emotional attachments was in need of a serious upgrade. After watching National Geographic in HD ...well you get the picture. My video was looking like Charlie Chapman would 'walk' into the movie at any moment!

Spent countless hours reading the forums : a few sites influenced my decision, especially :
Panasonic HDC-TM700 Camcorder Review - Flash Memory - CamcorderInfo.com (http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content/Panasonic-HDC-TM700-Camcorder-Review-37681.htm)
and
The Official Panasonic HDC-HS/SD/TM700 Owners thread - AVS Forum (http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1248284)
and
Panasonic HDC-TM700 review - Camcorder reviews - TrustedReviews (http://www.trustedreviews.com/camcorders/review/2010/03/22/Panasonic-HDC-TM700/p1)

Then of course the Apple support issue ..or lack of!
Neither iMovie ( even new iMovie11) or FCP support the Panasonics MTS files.
I've read up on
Apple - Support - Discussions - Importing from a Panasonic HDC TM700 ... (http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2380085&start=0&tstart=0)

and was confirmed that I wanted top quality video I'd have to do more research!